Quarterly Reading Challenge Check-In (+PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016)

Hello friends!

hi gif

I am very excited to announce that I will be taking on yet another reading challenge for 2016!  I haven’t mentioned it here, but the first challenge I entered this year was the Goodreads Challenge.  This is very loose; you only set a goal for a number of books to read for the year.  This year, I set a goal of 75 books, and I’m excited to see if I can get there by the end of the year!

Next, I joined the Mount TBR Challenge, which I introduced in my first ever post on this blog.  Go ahead and click that link to check it out if you’re interested.  This challenge is dedicated to reducing your TBR pile.  You select a “level” which corresponds to a number of books that you will read from the pile.  I chose the Mount Vancouver level, meaning I have committed to reading 36 of my unread books.  The main catch is that you must be reading books that you owned before January 1, 2016.  As you buy books, your TBR pile continues to grow, but only the ones from before 2016 count.

NOW I am throwing my hat into the 2016 PopSugar Reading Challenge.  If you don’t know what that is, click that link for more information, but it’s a challenge that consists of 40 prompts (resulting in 41 books, as 1 prompt includes 2 books).  Everyone decides to do this challenge differently.  Some people are strict about reading a book for each prompt.  Some find books that hit as many prompts as possible and finish that way.  I am choosing a middle path, and have decided that of all of the books that I read, no more than 5 can count for multiple prompts, and even those can only count for 2 each.  This means that I will be reading a total of 36 books connected to this challenge.  I did this to challenge myself a bit outside of my comfort zone, but also to put some structure to my Mount TBR Challenge.  I don’t typically enjoy adhering to a pre-determined TBR list, but the main reason I haven’t read many books in my TBR is that I can’t decided which one to pick up.  Now I have fit as many TBR books to these prompts as possible, and I should knock out 16 of my pledged 36 with this challenge.  I will put the prompts and my completions so far at the end of this blog post so you can see it if you’d like!

Quarterly, I will be checking in to let you all know where I am with my challenges.  Even though I started most of these challenges later into 2016, I am going to be pulling from all books I’ve read in 2016, even if I read them before I joined the challenge.  All right; let’s see how I’m doing!

Quarter 1 of 2016:
Goodreads Challenge – 22/75 books read (This is great; I’m on track to complete this goal!)
Mount TBR Challenge – 6/36 books read (I am a little off-track here, but there is plenty of time left, and PopSugar should help with this a bit.)
PopSugar Reading Challenge – 7/40 prompts completed (I am slightly off here too, but I feel like this challenge is going to consume me until it’s done, so I think I’ll be making some progress soon.)

So it looks like things are going well so far!  I’m a bit off track with everything but Goodreads, but I’m not worried at this point.  These challenges are fun, but I refuse to live my life reading only to meet a goal.  If I feel these are too overbearing at any point, I’ll stop because reading should be enjoyable, but I am really excited about these, so I think I’ll be ok.

Anyway, this is getting pretty long so I will cut this here (but don’t forget to check out my PopSugar completions below)!  Also, let me know what’s going on with you all!  Are you participating in any reading challenges this year?  If so, how are you doing?  Any other thoughts?  Let me know in the comments; I look forward to it!  Byyeeee!

PopSugar Reading Challenge Completed Prompts

A book based on a fairy tale
A National Book Award Winner
A YA bestseller
A book you haven’t read since high school
A book set in your home state
A book translated to English
A romance set in the future
A book set in Europe – Anna and the French Kiss (Stephanie Perkins)
A book that’s under 150 pages
A New York Times bestseller
A book that’s becoming a movie this year
A book recommended by someone you just met
A self-improvement book
A book you can finish in a day
A book written by a celebrity
A political memoir
A book that’s at least 100 years older than you
A book that’s more than 600 pages
A book from Oprah’s Book Club
A science-fiction novel – Morning Star (Pierce Brown)
A book recommended by a family member
A graphic novel – The Wicked and the Divine: The Faust Act (Gillen, McKelvie, Wilson, Cowles)
A book that is published in 2016 – The Rule of Mirrors (Caragh M. O’Brien)
A book with a protagonist who has your occupation
A book that takes place during Summer – Savor the Moment (Nora Roberts)
A book and its prequel
A murder mystery
A book written by a comedian
A dystopian novel
A book with a blue cover – Made You Up (Francesca Zappia)
A book of poetry
The first book you see in a bookstore
A classic from the 20th century
A book from the library
An autobiography
A book about a road trip
A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with
A satirical book
A book that takes place on an island
A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy – Vision in White (Nora Roberts)

Leave a Reply

