Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

Hello everyone!

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and here is my latest offering!  This week the topic is “10 Books That I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While.”  I had a really good time thinking of these books; many of which I read in high school (shout-out to my English teachers for assigning some really fantastic books).  I will go ahead and get into my list; I hope you enjoy!

InAWhile1

  1. The Crucible (Arthur Miller) – I read this play in high school (school assignment), and I really loved it.  It is so well-thought out/written, and it made my mind go in so many different directions as a high school student.  I plan to re-read this book this year, and I’m sure I’ll love it just as much as I did back then.
  2. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb) – This is another book that I read during my high school years, and I immediately related to the main character in a way that hadn’t happened in a long time.  I still think about this book from time to time, and wouldn’t mind re-reading it sometime soon.
  3. Sloth (Ella James) – I recently read this book (in the last 6ish months), and I enjoyed it so much!  I haven’t spoken much about it, mainly because there is a lot to be spoiled, but I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a someone dark and intense adult fiction book.  Warning:  There is a lot of sex in this book, but I also enjoyed the overall story and think there is a lot to take from the book in general.
  4. The Other Boleyn Girl (Philippa Gregory) – I don’t really consider myself someone who reads a lot of historical fiction, but I stumbled upon this book in college, right before it became a movie (which I also thoroughly enjoyed).  Philippa Gregory made these characters come to life (again) and reignited a long-lost interest in British royalty.  I could not put this book down.
  5. The Coldest Winter Ever (Sister Souljah) – I also read this book in high school (although definitely not for school), and it was a very popular book when it came out (and I still hear people talking about it today).  It is very adult, but so interesting.  I think teachers pried a few copies of this book out of people’s hands while I was in school.

    InAWhile2

  6. The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman (Ernest E. Gaines) – I read this when I was in 7th or 8th grade, and although I believe it is written for a slightly older audience, it is still accessible to that age range.  This book was written from the perspective of a woman who lived a long life – long enough that she was a slave, yet also remembered the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s.  I remember finding it remarkable, and have read it several times since then.
  7. Linden Hills (Gloria Naylor) – This was another book I was assigned to read in high school, and has stuck with me for all of these years.  The story drew me in, and although the metaphors and other literary devices were strong and painted a huge picture, the story itself was also brilliantly compelling.  I’d like to read this one again as an adult to see what my thoughts are now.
  8. Snow Falling on Cedars (David Guterson) – It turns out that I read a lot of good literature in high school, because this was another assignment.  I really liked this book; it is focused on a culture/time period that I hadn’t known much about before reading this book, and I just really enjoyed the way that the story was told.
  9. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden) – I feel like most people have heard of or read this book, but I don’t talk about it often, so I definitely wanted to bring it up here.  I read this during my later college years, and enjoyed being immersed in a culture that I was not familiar with, and learning while reading an engrossing story.
  10. Sharp Objects (Gillian Flynn) – This is one of my favorite books of all time, and I don’t talk about it nearly often enough.  I feel like Gone Girl gets a lot of Gillian Flynn’s shine (I haven’t read it yet – I know, I know), but this was such a good story.  I related in the strangest way, and I just really liked the journey that this book took me on.

Well, those are 10 books that I don’t talk about nearly enough.  Let me know what you think in the comments, and share a book or two that you don’t talk about enough.  I’m always looking for the recommendations!

Thanks y’all!  I will see you all in the next one…

 

 

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

  1. Great list! The Other Bolelyn Girl, Winter, and Linden Hills are some of my favorite books. I enjoyed them the first time and Linden Hills was just as great when I reread it. Miss Jane Pittman was great as well and I’d like to read Memoirs of a Geisha.
    Here’s my TTT list.

    Like

  2. I feel the same way about Gillian Flynn except I loved Dark Places so much, Gone Girl was so-so for me but Dark Places was the one I keep coming back to. The Other Boleyn Girl is definitely the book that hooked me on historical fiction, except I saw the movie first (I know) lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, I just found my copy of Dark Places a few weeks ago an realized I never finished it. I started it years ago and got pretty far, and over the years somehow convinced myself that I had read it. I’m not even sure why I stopped, because I remember it being really good. At this point I need to start over, but I’m looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Crucible will always be one of my favorite reads! I had to read it for school took, and I remember being sooo interested in it that I actually read ahead and finished it before we were supposed to. I’m super excited it’s come to Broadway again! It’s so dynamic on stage.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually really love the movie. (With Daniel Day-Lewis? Is there more than one??) But I’m a big theater geek, so I have to go see it! Plus, this has Saoirse Ronan as Abigail Williams. It’s bound to be good!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

