Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

TTTHello all!

In an effort to keep up with this blogging thing this go-round, I have decided to participate in a few weekly posts.  The first that I want to jump-off with is Top Ten Tuesday.  This is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and I’m excited to get started sharing and building some community.  There might not always be 10 items in my posts.  C’est la vie.

This week’s topic is “10 Songs I Wish Were Books,” which is PERFECT for me this week.  I am eager to share my tastes in books, but also in other things in life, so I am in love with this topic.  I’m going to jump in and share; these are in no particular order:

1)  “American Pie” – Don McLean
I learned this song in 7th or 8th grade; I was in a class of 12, and we learned it both to perform in a school production, but also as a part of a unit in American History.  I LOVED learning about this song and all of its layers, and I think it would be a haunting, yet compelling book.

2)  “Come On, Eileen” – Dexys Midnight Runners
I’ve been on a bit of an ’80s music kick lately, so don’t be surprised if the 80s shows up again in this list – and this song is all kinds of fun for me.  I first heard it in the movie “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” (and no, I still haven’t read the book, but I do plan to), so while I’m too young to have been listening to this when it came out, I do have very fond memories of the song, mainly because of what was happening in the movie when it was playing.  Anywho, I’ve been listening to it lately and would love a book about this relationship – how it began and where it went after the song.  That’d be pretty cool.

3)  “Can I” – Alina Baraz
I love Alina Baraz, and this is one of my favorites by her.  I believe that this book would be a sensual, steamy, and explorative romance, wrapped in a story that is about seeing the best in the people around you.  This would be a book that I would fall in love with, undoubtedly.

4)  “Same Ol’ Mistakes” – Rihanna
This would be a dark and angsty story about how hard love can be sometimes, and it would have an unhappy-happy ending.  Meaning our protagonist may end up alone, but better off for it.  Which, lets be honest, is a happy ending for real.  I think there would be a lot of learning and frustration in this book, but it would be an amazing journey.

5) “Next Lifetime” – Erykah Badu
A story about two people in happy relationships, but who can’t seem to stop finding and orbiting one another? Sounds frustrating, but sign me up!  Maybe they are soulmates who have traveled through time together, not always together but always finding one another.  I feel like this book already exists, but still…  All the yes.

6)  “Rude” – Magic!
A story about a guy trying to win the permission of his lady’s father to propose?  Super patriarchal, but I love the idea of him putting in so much effort and then realizing he is putting his attention and effort into the wrong person, and concentrating once again on the woman of his dreams.

7)  “Bartender” – Lady Antebellum
Just a fun, post-breakup tale about a girl finding her happiness after a failed relationship.  Cliché, but for a reason:  when done well, it works.

8)  “Tell Me If You Still Care” – The S.O.S. Band
Two people looking up after going through the motions for so long, to realize that their relationship is almost over, and deciding whether or not to fight for it.  Magic.

9)  “Human Nature” – Michael Jackson
A novel (or novella) of vignettes, all capturing the power in the minutiae of small, everyday human interaction.

10.  “Rather Be” – Clean Bandit, Jess Glynne
Fantastic tale of a couple beating the odds in several countries, traveling, and being free together.  I’m not sure how it would all come together, but I love this song, and I think it would be a great book.

Thanks for making it to the end.  What songs do you think you make good books?  Let me know in the comments!  Stay tuned for more reviews, and more entries into Top Ten Tuesday!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

  1. Journey’s Separate Ways. I NEED to know if he gets the girl back.
    Paradise by the Dashboard Light: Meatloaf. I need to know if the couple are still together.
    I sense a theme here…. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

